Blowers Racing

Spearheading Sports Quality

2009 National Football League – 90th Season

2009 National Football League – 90th Season

On August 9, 2009, the season will start with the Pro Football Hall of Fame Game and on February 7, 2010 the season will end with Super Bowl XLIV championship game. The event will be held at Dolphin Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida. This season also marks the 50th Season of the original eight charter member of the American Football League. Its owners are called the Foolish Club. The 5th league to use the American Football League moniker began play in 1960 and become the American Football Conference (AFC) when it merges with NFL in 1970. The NFC’s Dallas Cowboy also celebrates their fiftieth season in 2009.

For this season, the event has the following television partners: CBS, FOX, NBC, ESPN, NFL Network and Direct TV. CBS celebrates its 50th season of NFL coverage. It has already covered the NFL games from 1956 to 1993 and covered again from 1998 up to the present. Monday Night Football that is previously aired on ABC was aired now in ESPN after the two sport networks operations were merged in 2006. . The first Monday night of the regular season will feature two Original Eight games, a doubleheader with the Bills at the Patriots and the Chargers at the Raiders. While in the radio, the possible partners will be Dial Global’s Sport USA Radio Network, Disney’s ESPN Radio and American City Business Journal’ Sporting News Radio.

The 2009 season is the first season for the new self-named stadium of the Dallas Cowboys. New York Giants and Jets will also move to a new stadium named Meadowlands Stadium for 2010. For this season’s uniforms, there will be a slight changes and only modification from the previous 2008 NFL season. The new uniforms were unveiled on April 25, 2009. Regarding the rules, there will be changes that will be considerations to improve the players safety and reduce injuries which were discuss during the league’s annual owners meeting in Dana Point, California  last March 23. Rules as stated as follows:(1) A blindside block cannot be initially delivered by a helmet, forearm or shoulder to an opponent’s head or neck.(2)The initial contact to the head of a defenseless receiver is also prohibited.(3)On kickoffs, a blocking wedge cannot consist of more than two players.(4)During onside kickoff attempts, the kicking team cannot have more than five players bunched together.

The 2009 season first game will begins on Thursday, September 10, 2009 at 8:35 pm EDT, with the Super Bowl XLIII champion Pittsburgh Steelers hosting the Tennessee Titans at Heinz Field. This is the latest date the NFL can start its season as the season typically starts the weekend after Labor Day, This will be the eighth and tentatively final year that the league uses its current scheduling rotation. The Pro Football Hall of Fame game is on august 9, 2009 at 8:00 p.m. EDT on NBC. The AFC Championship Games is set for Sunday, January 24, 2010 at 3:00 p.m., followed by the NFC Championship Games at 6:30 p.m. Super Bowl XLIV, to be held at Dolphin Stadium in Miami Garden Florida, follows two weeks later, on February 7. Other games were announced on April 14, 2009 on the NFL Network and the NFL website.