Blowers Racing

Spearheading Sports Quality

Penrith Panthers vs Parramatta Eels, Taylan May injured, Nathan Brown recalled

Penrith Panthers vs Parramatta Eels, Taylan May injured, Nathan Brown recalled

Luckless Parramatta centre Tom Opacic has been named in the reserves list, as injury looks certain to rob him of a grand final appearance.

The Eels have instead named Bailey Simonsson at centre for Sunday’s game. Opacic was ruled out of last week’s preliminary final and on Monday was seen pulling up lame from a fitness test at training.

Penrith has also been dealt a blow ahead of the NRL grand final with star winger Taylan May ruled out.

READ MORE: Superstar faces axe in Kangaroos bench battle

READ MORE: NRL serves up the grand final to sink rival codes

READ MORE: How $60k bargain buy can get ‘sweetest payback’ against Panthers

May injured his hamstring during the Panthers’ qualifying final win over Parramatta.

He was also suspended for one game for a high tackle in that victory. But it’s his hamstring which will keep him out of the premiership decider, with the club announcing he will not be fit to take the field at Accor Stadium.

Parramatta has pulled a selection bombshell in dropping Bryce Cartwright and recalling Nathan Brown to play his first NRL game in three months.

There has been speculation about Brown’s relationship with coach Brad Arthur, and whether the representative lock will be at the club next season.


Sunday, Penrith Panthers vs Parramatta Eels at Accor Stadium, 7.30pm

Referee : Ashley Klein

Panthers: 1. Dylan Edwards 2. Charlie Staines 3. Izack Tago 4. Stephen Crichton 5. Brian To’o 6. Jarome Luai 7. Nathan Cleary 8. Moses Leota 9. Apisai Koroisau 10. James Fisher-Harris 11. Viliame Kikau 12. Liam Martin 13. Isaah Yeo 14. Mitch Kenny 15. Scott Sorensen 16. Spencer Leniu 17. Jaeman Salmon 18. Sean O’Sullivan 19. Matt Eisenhuth 20. J’maine Hopgood 21. Sunia Turuva 22. Chris Smith

Eels: 1. Clinton Gutherson 2. Maika Sivo 3. Viliami Penisini 4. Bailey Simonsson 5. Waqa Blake 6. Dylan Brown 7. Mitchell Moses 8. Reagan Campbell-Gillard 9. Reed Mahoney 10. Junior Paulo 11. Shaun Lane 12. Isaiah Papali’i 13. Ryan Matterson 14. Nathan Brown 15. Jakob Arthur 16. Oregon Kaufusi 17. Marata Niukore 18. Bryce Cartwright 19. Makahesi Makatoa 20. Tom Opacic 21. Ofahiki Ogden 22. Ky Rodwell


Sunday, Newcastle Knights vs Parramatta Eels at Accor Stadium, 3.55pm

Referee: Kasey Badger

Knights: 1. Tamika Upton 2. Kiana Takairangi 3. Shanice Parker 4. Bobbi Law 5. Emmanita Paki 6. Kirra Dibb 7. Jesse Southwell 8. Caitlan Johnston 9. Olivia Higgins 10. Millie Boyle 11. Romy Teitzel 12. Yasmin Clydsdale 13. Kayla Romaniuk 14. Emma Manzelmann 15. Tayla Predebon 16. Simone Karpani 17. Makenzie Weale 18. Caitlin Moran 20. Kyra Simon 22. Tiana Davison 23. Jessica Gentle 24. Tamsin Barber

Eels: 1. Gayle Broughton 2. Zali Fay 3. Abbi Church 4. Rikeya Horne 5. Cassey Tohi-Hiku 6. Ash Quinlan 7. Tayla Preston 8. Kennedy Cherrington 9. Brooke Anderson 10. Ellie Johnston 11. Christian Pio 12. Vanessa Foliaki 13. Simaima Taufa 14. Filomina Hanisi 15. Seli Mailangi 16. Najvada George 17. Rima Butler 18. Ruby-Jean Kennard 19. Brooke Walker 20. Rueben Cherrington 21. Tiana Penitani 22. Tess Staines


Sunday, Penrith Panthers vs Norths Devils at Accor Stadium, 1.15pm

Referee: Darian Furner

Panthers: 1. Isaiah Iongi 2. Christian Crichton 3. Robert Jennings 4. Thomas Jenkins 5. Sunia Turuva 6. Jack Cole 7. Kurt Falls 8. Lindsay Smith 9. Soni Luke 10. Matt Eisenhuth 11. Preston Riki 12. Chris Smith 13. J’maine Hopgood 14. Luke Sommerton 15. Eddie Blacker 16. Liam Henry 17. John Faiumu 18. Mavrik Geyer 19. Daeon Amituanai 20. Hohepa Puru 21. Ativalu Lisati 22. Niwhai Puru

Devils: 1. Jack Ahearn 2. Jayden Corrigan 3. Jacob Gagan 4. Tony Tumusa 5. Matthew Milson 6. Connor Broadhurst 7. Tyson Gamble 8. Viko Puliuvea 9. Kierran Moseley 10. Jayden Stephens 11. Brendan Piakura 12. Leivaha Pulu 13. Michael Sio 14. Liam Horne 16. Jerome Veve 17. Sam Lavea 20. Lloyd Perrett 18. Moses Noovao-McGreal 15. Tauaalo Vaipulu 19. Rashaun Denny 21. Jared Chambers 22. Tyrone Roberts

For a daily dose of the best of the breaking news and exclusive content from Wide World of Sports, subscribe to our newsletter by clicking here!