Blowers Racing

Spearheading Sports Quality

Fun facts about Talladega Superspeedway

Fun facts about Talladega Superspeedway

Its white-knuckle racing all the way at Talladega Superspeedway! The speeds that used to be possible at Talladega are no more. It is one of two tracks on the NASCAR circuit that forces teams to run a restrictor plate to limit the engine horsepower, which in turn limits the top speed of the cars. Built in 1969, this challenging tri-oval course is a little over 2.5 miles and the banking degrees sure take some talent!

The first winner of a NASCAR race at Talladega was Richard Brickhouse in 1969. Speed records have been recorded at Talladega Superspeedway and it is known as the biggest and fastest motorsports facility in the World. If NASCAR thrills are what you seek, then Talladega is the place you oughta be!

The Aaron’s 499 is a NASCAR Nextel Cup stock car race held at Talladega. The race is 500 miles (188 laps) and has always been held in early May or late April. The Aaron’s 499 is also one of four races currently run with restrictor plates. The others are the UAW Ford 500, the Pepsi 400, and the Daytona 500. The 1997 Aarons 499 race, won by Mark Martin, was the fastest NASCAR race to date ever run, at an average speed of 188.354 mph (303.126 km/h).

Past Aaron’s 499 Winners:

2005 Jeff Gordon – 194 laps / 516.04 miles (green-white-checkered)

2004 Jeff Gordon

2003 Dale Earnhardt, Jr.

2002 Dale Earnhardt, Jr.

2001 Bobby Hamilton

2000 Jeff Gordon

1999 Dale Earnhardt

1998 Bobby Labonte

1997 Mark Martin (race postponed two weeks due to rain)

1996 Sterling Marlin

1995 Mark Martin

1994 Dale Earnhardt

1993 Ernie Irvan

1992 Davey Allison

1991 Harry Gant (race postponed from Sunday to Monday due to rain)

1990 Dale Earnhardt

1989 Davey Allison

1988 Phil Parsons

1987 Davey Allison – 178 laps / 473.48 miles (darkness – caused by long delay caused by repairs to repair damaged catchfencing in a Lap 22 crash)

1986 Bobby Allison

1985 Bill Elliott

1984 Cale Yarborough

1983 Richard Petty

1982 Darrell Waltrip

1981 Bobby Allison

1980 Buddy Baker

1979 Bobby Allison

1978 Cale Yarborough

1977 Darrell Waltrip

1976 Buddy Baker

1975 Buddy Baker

1974 David Pearson – 170 laps – 452.2 miles (energy crisis)

1973 David Pearson

1972 David Pearson

1971 Donnie Allison

1970 Pete Hamilton

If you are ever in Eastaboga, Alabama, Talladega Superspeedway is a must see. The Aaron’s 499 is the most well-known race held at Talladega, and it’s become well known throughout the NASCAR racing circuit.